Spring
2022

Practitioner Meetings

These meetings are generally group discussions around certain topics related to the day-to-day operations of running a mathematics learning center. This semester we will be focusing on issues of diversity and inclusion. 

Meeting Dates/Times/Topics/notes from meeting

Thursday, Feb 3 9:00am PST/10:00am MT/11:00am CST/12:00pm ET

           Check-in with each other and Organizational Meeting
Thursday, March 3 9:00am PST/10:00am MT/11:00am CST/12:00pm ET

            1. Promoting student collaboration in the Math Learning Center. 

            2. Bootcamps or Supplemental Instruction Sections

            3. Leadership Roles for Tutors

            4. Appreciation or Awards for tutors to help them build their resume 

Thursday, March 31 9:00am PST/10:00am MT/11:00am CST/12:00pm ET


Thursday, April 28 9:00am PST/10:00am MT/11:00am CST/12:00pm ET

Research Meetings

These meetings may consist of reading and discussing journal articles related to tutoring, presentations of original research at various phases by members of the group, or collaborations on new research projects. 

Meeting Dates/Times/Topics/notes from meetings

Thursday, February 17th PST/10:00am MT/11:00am CST/12:00pm ET

Cameron Byerley will lead a discussion of the paper that she led on the structures of math learning centers. This paper is currently under review. 

 

Thursday, March 24th 9:00am PST/10:00am MT/11:00am CST/12:00pm ET
Carolyn Johns will lead a discussion of her Performance Assessment paper. The citation is: Johns, C. Byerley, C., Moore-Russo, D., Rickard, B., Oien, J., Burks, L., James, C., Mills, M., Heasom, W., Ferreira, M., Mammo, B. (2021). Performance assessment for mathematics tutoring centres. Teaching Mathematics and its Applications, https://doi.org/10.1093/teamat/hrab032.

Thursday, April 14th 9:00am PST/10:00am MT/11:00am CST/12:00pm ET
Melissa Mills will give a literature review of departmental change literature and lead a discussion about how Math Learning Centers could contribute to departmental change. 

Access to Meetings

Join our mailing list  or contact us for access to our zoom meetings, information about job postings, and details about upcoming conferences that members of our group are attending.